A day to be extra thankful.

22 Nov

I try my hardest to make sure that I’m incredibly thankful and grateful for the hand I’ve been dealt every day of the year, but I suppose today is the day to really take serious notice of how fortunate and lucky I am.

Right now, I’m sitting in my jim jams on the couch, watching Kit play Borderlands 2. I just purchased Portal and Portal 2 from the Steam store for a very reasonable price of $6.24, so I’m waiting for those to download. I’ve got a mug of Pepsi and a stack of wonderful books sitting right next to me, and I have zero obligations to be anywhere or do anything. In a couple of hours we’ll put our little turkey in the oven, whip up some soft, buttery mashed potatoes and some creamy green bean casserole, and pop open a bottle of sparkling grape juice (don’t laugh–that stuff is delicious!).

Yes, yes. There’s a lot to be thankful for. Today I’m extra thankful that I get to spend this family holiday wrapped up in my Thor and Loki blanket, gnome pajama pants, all cuddled with my kitties. Tonight after dinner, we’ll watch a movie. Probably A Midsummer Night’s Dream. You know, the one with Christian Bale. I’ve never seen it before.

We won’t be participating in Black Friday sales. We’ve done all of our Christmas shopping, and it just seems so incredibly odd and materialistic to rush out and buy stuff and unneeded things on a day when you’re supposed to be thankful for everything that you’ve got. Tomorrow, instead of heading to a big box store or to the mall, we’ll start off with a walk along the beautiful greenway in our city, grab some lunch, and go see the movie Cloud Atlas.

I hope everyone reading this is having a fantastic day, and that you have a warm, wonderful day filled with delicious food and delightful company. Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Starting tomorrow, we’ll be gearing up for the next holiday, but enjoy turkey day while it’s here.

Tomorrow, let’s get ready for Christmas in Hobbiton!

 

2 Responses to “A day to be extra thankful.”

  1. souly November 25, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    People gets nuts w/ the black friday sales. Camping out on Thanksgiving just to get a good deal? No thanks.

    Sounds like a awesome Thanksgiving. Any day cuddling w/ kitties is a good one :)

    • Amy November 27, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

      Absolutely! Days with cats are the best.

      And yeah, people are ridiculous when it comes to this Black Friday nonsense. I know so many people that willingly spent time away from their homes and family just so they could save a little money on stuff they didn’t need. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

