A new challenge.

19 Nov

I used to read all the time. I loved it. I didn’t have to pick up a book, but that’s pretty much what you found me doing most of the time.

I don’t do it much anymore, which is incredibly, unbelievably sad, given how much I used to. So, I’m going to pick it up again! I’m going to try and get through one book a week. Who knows, I may be able get through more. It’s an incredibly busy point in the semester, but that’s no excuse. If I have time to watch Jenna Marbles and My Drunk Kitchen videos or browse Reddit endlessly, I have time to pick up a book.

Here’s how it’s going to work. Fun books. By fun, I mean anything that I want to read for the sake of reading, not something assigned for a class or something I need to read in order to get background for my thesis/comprehensive exams. Some I won’t have read before. Some will be great loves that I’ve put aside for too long without rereading (I’m looking at you, Tolkien!). It doesn’t matter all that much what I’m reading, the whole point of this is to just read. A lot. At the end of every month, I’ll be posting a photo of my stack of finished books, and I’ll tell you a little bit about them. 

Just as an fyi…I’ve already finished one–The Dark Phoenix Saga! Yes, I’m counting graphic novels. 

4 Responses to “A new challenge.”

  1. Lesley November 19, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    That’s a good plan! I really had to remind myself to read because I always had other things I had to do. I found that setting a goodreads challenge helped me commit! Good luck :)

    • Amy November 19, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

      Thanks, I’ll need it! It’s always so easy to push things like this to the side, especially in favor of more brain-rotting activities like watching TV. I hope this helps me relax and keeps me sane. :)

  2. Kit November 19, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Welcome back!

    • Amy November 19, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

      Yay, thanks! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

